Guest Reviews

St. Peter, US
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2013
Property Manager
I was a guest at Pointavu in 2012 when my daughter Sarah was there at the end of June. I thought it would be just a great place to invite friends of my age and from my former home area in Morris, MN to join me there. It was perfect for our group of retirees to gather and relax. There are so many things in the Tofte area, both north and south on Hwy 61 to do when we felt like getting out. The home itself is remarkable! So clean and welcoming when we arrived! The wrap-around deck and the shore of Lake Superior are fantastic! Doesn't matter what the weather is like, the home is comfortable and cozy. Bedroom locations allowed us to put the talkers/late to bed guests up in the loft. Those of us who liked the cooler, more quiet space found the lower bedroom and the back apartment-like bedrooms perfect for our needs. A guest with foot problems enjoyed the jacuzzi in the apt. bedroom and the idea he could get up and not disturb anyone else. I enjoy getting the newsletter from Cascade Rental and have referred it to people looking for a short stay and can go on short notice. This time we made more of our meals at the home vs eating out as much as the younger set enjoyed. The kitchen was well equipped and as it was cool we used the screened porch for our food pantry. I hate a cluttered counter and pantry helped! I loved having a washer and dryer available to make favorite clothes available more than once! Nice to be able to dry wet towels on damp days as well. Beds were so comfy and whether some were hot or cold, the bedding choices took care of everyone's needs. Only complaint was "no wifi" for the techies in group with their laptops, but they did go down to the Coho Bakery bench to retrieve their messages/mail. I thought it was neat not to have 4-5 people checking their Smart phones all the time. We all were able to access cell phone access, especially those on the Verizon plan. Thank you for the wonderful relaxing week on Lake Superior!
Property
View Property: Pointavu
Eagan, US
Reviewed: Jun 23, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: A Superior Retreat
Arden Hills, US
Reviewed: Jun 20, 2013
Property Manager
It was beautiful. We had a fabulous experience. We could have used a better, bigger fry pan for cooking, a crockpot. Other than that, it was great. --- Thanks for the review! We will mention your suggestions to the owner. -Cascade Vacation Rentals
Property
View Property: Aspenwood 6544
Wabasha, US
Reviewed: Jun 20, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Wearing Water
Shoreview, US
Reviewed: Jun 20, 2013
Property Manager
Beautiful location and so convenient for going to Grand Marais. Clean and quiet cabin . easy to arrive affer hours. would have liked a map of the region, too, with more sites listed. Missed having a microwave. Hard to see tv one you sit down because of the angle. The images get all black. Maybe there is a different mount that would let it tilt down more. ---Thanks for the review! We spoke to the owner and he has fixed the TV angle! Cascade Vacation Rentals
Property
View Property: Opels Cabin 3
Lakeville, US
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Bay Breeze
Jordan, US
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Bluefin Bay 57B
Beaver Dam, US
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Brave Cove
Coon Rapids, US
Reviewed: Jun 18, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Sisters Cabin
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jun 18, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Finn_House
Prior Lake, US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
Beautiful home and view. There wasn't any dislikes.
Property
View Property: Aspenwood_6508
Carmel, US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
Loved Pointavu overall. We had stayed here previously and really like the layout and view from main room and deck. It was wheelchair accessible with some effort but not overly handicap amenable. Would love to see possible bars in the downstairs bathroom for example. I understand not having trash service but there was not anywhere to even easily store full trash bags. Something to put these in prior to bringing them to the dumpster at the Rental agency would be nice. Finally, this house could use a few more plastic cups or glasses. Had mainly mugs and wine glasses. ---Thanks for the review. We will make some suggestions to the owner about a trash barrel and more cups! Cascade Vacation Rentals
Property
View Property: Pointavu
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Stoney Point
Minnetonka, US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Sleepy Owl
St. Charles , US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
I am at home now, but my heart and soul is still there at Spirit Haven. It was a fantastic vacation experience and I cannot say anything negative about it. I have stayed in cabins for my lifetime, so do not expect perfect amenities, this place had everything we needed and was super efficient. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Property
View Property: Spirit Haven
Oakdale, US
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2013
Property Manager
Maybe a microwave in the future would be nice? Going to sleep and waking up to wave sounds outside widow was nice. great stay!
Property
View Property: Opels Cabin 1
Coon Rapids, US
Reviewed: Jun 16, 2013
Property Manager
Loved the home! The location and privacy were just what we were looking for. It had everything we needed. We were glad that there was no TV,it's too easy to turn on out of habit. What we liked best was the privacy and that we could bring our dog. We loved how close it was to all the hiking trails. It was nice to have the firewood for the fireplace.
Property
View Property: R and R
Northwood, US
Reviewed: Jun 13, 2013
Property Manager
The group and I all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The cabin was in wonderful condition and was very clean. The view on top of the Eagle's Nest was beautiful, along with all of the other surrounding nature.
Property
View Property: Eagles Nest
Minnetonka, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Sunrise Hollow
St. Paul, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Opels Cabin 4
Crystal, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
Loved everything about the property from the spaciousness to the location. It was great for our family. The only complaint is the garbage service. It is a bit of an inconvenience to take care of the trash at end of visit. ---- Thanks for your review of Pointavu. Unfortunately garbage on the North Shore is very hard to get rid of. Something people may not know is that garbage has to be transported to Superior, Wisconsin which is over 100 miles away. This home along with many of our homes does not have the option for garbage pick up, but is only a few miles from our office where the dumpster is located. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are always open to new ideas on how we can solve this problem.
Property
View Property: Pointavu
Jordan, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
The home was fantastic-quiet, private, cozy, and very comfortable. The location was great. The home was clean (except for a few utensils in the kitchen) and everything worked perfectly. Loved the fact that it is dog friendly. Of all the places we've stayed on the North Shore and on the Gunflint Trail since the late 1980's, this place would have to be our favorite! ---We are sorry about the utensils and will mention something to our cleaner - Thanks! Cascade Vacation Rentals
Property
View Property: R and R
Minneapolis, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
My husband and I stayed at Caribou Crossing for a long weekend just a couple of months before our first baby will be born. It was the perfect getaway spot to relax and spend time together. The house was cozy and clean. We loved having private and easy access to the lake for swimming (even though it was a little bit cold!) and just hanging out. The back deck was the perfect spot to enjoy the warm weather and the beautiful view. The cabin was very comfortable and there was a great movie, book, and game selection for the one rainy day we had. There were helpful books about the area that directed us to a beautiful hike by Oberg Lake. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and hope we can return sometime soon!
Property
View Property: Caribou Crossing
Circle Pines, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
This was one of many experiences with Cascade Vacation Rentals and the first time at Opel's Shoreside. We very much enjoyed the cabin; it was modern, traditional, and very comfortable. The only thing that would have made the experience 10/10 would have been a queen size mattress; but we know that would have been impractical with the cabin.
Property
View Property: Opels Shoreside
St. Paul, US
Reviewed: Jun 12, 2013
Property Manager
Spirit Haven was GREAT! The location couldn't have been better. We've rented lots of places outside of Grand Marais and my kids liked that the best. It's very well equipped with high end kitchen things. We were surprised the organ and piano well so well tuned. We enjoyed playing them. One thing; it would be helpful to have a note encouraging people to make sure the shower curtain is pressed down on both sides otherwise it leaks all over the floor. ---Thanks for the note about the shower curtain. We will take action. - Cascade Vacation Rentals
Property
View Property: Spirit Haven